

News Release

For Immediate Release

Premier Akeeagok announces executive-level changes

Iqaluit, Nunavut (October 10, 2024) – Premier P.J. Akeeagok today announced changes at the Government of Nunavut's (GN) executive level, effective immediately.

Premier Akeeagok announced the following changes:

- Christine Ellsworth becomes the Deputy Minister of Justice.
- Alma Power becomes the Deputy Minister of Human Resources.
- Pauloosie Suvega becomes the Deputy Minister of Environment.
- Stephen Mansell becomes the Chief Negotiator of Devolution.
- Jackie Price becomes the President of Nunavut Arctic College.

In addition, as previously announced, the GN is working to reorganize the departments of Community and Government Services, Economic Development and Transportation, and the Government Liaison Office of Executive and Intergovernmental Affairs into two departments – Community Services, and Transportation and Infrastructure Nunavut – as of April 1, 2025.

- Kristie Cronin becomes the Deputy Minister of Economic Development and Transportation, with responsibility for the transition to the new Department of Community Services.
- Kyle Seeley remains the Deputy Minister for Community and Government Services, with responsibility for the transition to the new Department of Transportation and Infrastructure Nunavut.

"I extend heartfelt thanks to David Kunuk, Yvonne Niego, and Rebecca Mearns for their time and dedication to the Government of Nunavut. I wish them the very best in future endeavours," said Premier Akeeagok.

Media Contact:

Sima Sahar Zerehi Office of Premier P.J. Akeeagok 867-975-5059 szerehi6@gov.nu.ca